I can do it… design my own knitwear

That’s it! I’ve decided to design my own knitwear.  The amount of times I have seen stuff in the shops and thought, “I can make that…surely?!” prompted me to take up knitting.

I started learning in December 2008 and since then I‘ve come to the conclusion that following patterns verbatim is just not my style, because I simply don’t understand them! Most of the time, I want to change this or that somewhere down the line… and after a while, the project ends up becoming something else anyway – so I figured that this what it is to be a designer.

My First (-ish) Design Project

This first project is based on a design that was influenced by the Yarn: Three Irish Girls Wexford (60% Silk/40% Merino) in Evangeline and Acadia (club colourways). It is luxuriously soft and has a sheen on it that would suit a kimono, however the 40% merino lets you know that it is still wool, which has lots of tuft and bounce.

Evangeline and Acadia with swatch

It is a worsted weight (aran) yarn that would normally be used with 5mm needles. I’ve recently discovered that I knit too loosely and so far I have designed and knitted 2 cardigans that are just that little too big for me.

Through Ravelry, I have learned that by using needles 2-3 sizes smaller than a written pattern would suggest, I just might get the right gauge.

Based on the yardage amount that I’ve got, my challenge is to design something that will work with the yarn, as well as fit me!

So, here goes…!

Copyright Notice: © Jimenez Joseph – Please respect the designer’s work and not copy/sell/distribute any of the content and designs without my written permission. All designs and patterns are for personal use only.
Leave a Reply

